ESCL Journal

CompLit: Journal of European Literature, Arts and Society 

Some months ago, the European Society of Comparative Literature (ESCL) published a call for expressions of interest in joining the editorial board of the forthcoming CompLit: Journal of European Literature, Arts and Society 

The journal will include research papers, as well as special issues edited by guest editors with a European focus. These will also include thematic review-sections and bibliographies with a common rationale or intersectional theme, connecting with other world literatures and with specifically comparative theoretical and methodological approaches,  such as current research on Reception studies, Myth-criticism, Imagology, Geocriticism, Adaptation, Ekphrasis, Orientalism, Travel writing, Diaspora studies, Migration studies, (Post-)colonial studies, World Literature, Global Literary studies, etc., with occasional foci on other genres within Comparative Literature studies, such as Literature and Anthropology, Literature and Science, Ecocriticism, Literature and Psychology, Literature and Philosophy, Ethics in/and Literature, Graphic Novels, Children’s and Young Adult Literature, Popular fiction, Crime fiction, Confessional narratives, etc.

The journal’s main aim is to firmly establish itself as a high-quality research publication, written by and for specialists in comparative literature, open to all its interdisciplinary and cultural aspects. We are determined to attract more scholars than existing journals, in particular by welcoming and studying all European literatures and languages, and their relations not only with each other but with the world at large.

The journal will mostly publish articles in English and French. Occasionally, special issues will appear in other European languages, particularly those dealing with regional topics. Abstracts and keywords will always be published in English. Initially, two issues will be published a year; these will be focused, thematic issues, in order to allow readers to familiarise themselves with the journal’s profile. Normally they will include 7-10 articles, plus 2-4 review-articles per issue. One of these issues may be a special issue deriving from ESCL conferences or scholarly events, coordinated and guest edited by the organizers of these events.

EDITORIAL BOARD  

The editorial board will be flexible and dynamic. 10 members will be appointed for three years (renewable).

General Editor:

Brigitte Le Juez (Dublin City University, Ireland) brigitte.lejuez@dcu.ie

Associate Editors :

  1. Emilia di Rocco (Sapienza – University of Roma, Italy) dirocco@uniroma1.it
  2. Shun-liang Chao (National Chengchi University, Taiwan) chao@gmail.com
  3. Asun López-Varela (Complutense University, Madrid, Spain) alopezva@ucm.es
  4. Zsuzsanna Varga (Glasgow University, Scotland, UK) vargazsuzsi@hotmail.com
  5. Beata Waligórska-Olejniczak (Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznan, Poland) waligorska@amu.edu.pl

Assistant Editors (early-career scholars):

  1. Jasmine Hammon (Universities of Augsburg, Germany, and Limoges, France) hammon@gmx.de
  2. Elisa Kriza (University of Bamberg, Germany) kriza@uni-bamberg.de
  3. Tasos Michailidis (University of Athens) tasmichailides@yahoo.gr

Reviews Editor:

Dragoş-Alexandru Ivana (University of Bucharest, Romania) dragos.ivana@lls.unibuc.ro

The general editor and associate editors will ensure that authors accept responsibility for the content of their papers, providing contact details to follow up submissions and identifying supporting funding. They will state and implement the journal’s policies regarding ethics, publications guidelines, content accessibility, etc. They will also maintain the journal’s integrity, complying with procedures designated by the European Society of Comparative Literature. They will ensure the quality control of papers and create mechanisms to reach readers by means of promotional material and advertising, working with the publisher to attract the best research. The general editor and associate editors will regularly make recommendations to improve evaluation and dissemination procedures, adhering to the publisher’s publication practices and schedule.

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE

The Scientific Committee includes representatives of diverse countries that, together, ensure expertise in as many European literatures as possible, members being proficient in more than one.

Members of the Scientific Committee are responsible for monitoring the fairness, timeliness and anonymity of the peer-review process. Referees are chosen by members of the Scientific Committee based on required areas of research and expertise. Each member of the Scientific Committee provides the names of referees for one or two papers every year.

The Scientific Committee is also responsible for providing reviewers with explicit instructions regarding the journal’s expectations in the peer-review process, requesting that reviewers identify potential conflicts of interest, and finding ways to recognize their contributions (i.e. providing letters that certify their participation).

  1. Barbara Agnese (University of Montreal, Canada) agnese@umontreal.ca
  2. Lucia Boldrini (Goldsmiths University of London, UK) boldrini@gold.ac.uk
  3. Dalia Cidzikaité (Lithuanian University of Educational Sciences, Vilnius, Lithuania) cidzikaite@gmail.com
  4. César Domínguez (Santiago de Compostela University, Spain) dominguez@usc.es
  5. Bernard Franco (Université de Paris IV-Sorbonne, France) franco1@gmail.com
  6. FrancescoGiusti (ICI Berlin Institute for Cultural Inquiry, Germany) giusti@ici-berlin.org
  7. Marina Grishakova (University of Tartu, Estonia) grisakova@ut.ee
  8. Sanna Nyqvist (University of Helsinki, Finland) nyqvist@helsinki.fi
  9. Fabio Camilletti (University of Warwick, UK) Camilletti@warwick.ac.uk
  10. Róbert Gáfrik (Slovak Academy of Sciences – University of Trnava) rgafrik@yahoo.com
  11. Jean-Louis Haquette (Université de Reims Champagne- Ardenne, France) jean-louis.haquette@wanadoo.fr
  12. Richard Hibbitt (University of Leeds, UK) Hibbitt@leeds.ac.uk
  13. Benedikts Kalnacs (University of Latvia) kalnacs@lulfmi.lv
  14. Chiara Lombardi (University of Turin, Italy) lombardi@unito.it
  15. Anna Menyhért (University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands) menyhertanna@gmail.com
  16. Polo Moji (University of Cape Town, South Africa) mojipb@gmail.com
  17. Rosa Mucignat (King’s College, London, UK) mucignat@kcl.ac.uk
  18. Laura Pereira Dominguez (Santiago de Compostela University, Spain) pereira@usc.es
  19. Nicoletta Pireddu (Georgetown University) pireddun@georgetown.edu
  20. Maria Cristina Ribas (State University, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) marycrisribas@gmail.com
  21. Angeliki Spiropoulou (University of the Peloponnese, Athens, Greece) aspirop@uop.gr
  22. Olga Springer (Sevenoaks School, UK) olgaspringer1106@gmail.com
  23. Mihaela Ursa (Babes-Bolyai University, Cluj-Napoca, Romania) mihaelaursa@gmail.com
  24. Rodger Williamson (University of Kitakyushu, Japan) rodger@kitakyu-u.ac.jp
  25. Karl Zieger (Université de Lille 3, France) zieger@univ-lille3.fr
  26. Gianna Zocco (University of Vienna, Austria) zocco@univie.ac.at
  27. Metka Zupancic (University of Alabama, USA) mzupanci833@gmail.com